fbpx Skip to content

UK tech leaders recognised in New Year Honours List 2023

New Year Honours List 2023
Image credit: Shutterstock

Industry leaders have been recognised for their contributions to UK tech in the New Year Honours List for 2023, with representatives from Birmingham Tech, Tech Nation and Fintech Scotland rewarded for their public service.

Among those recognised is Yiannis Maos, the founder and CEO of Birmingham Tech, which champions the West Midland’s tech scene. Maos will receive an MBE for services to the technology sector.

“It’s a great way to start the new year and I’m truly humbled to have received this award. The tech sector across the West Midlands is so exciting right now with lots of incredible people, innovative businesses and a thriving community. It’s great to be recognised alongside some amazing people who work in the UK tech sector,” Maos told UKTN.

Tech Nation’s client engagement director, Elizabeth Scott is also to receive an MBE for services to the technology sector.

Stephen Ingledew, founder and chief executive of Fintech Scotland will receive an OBE for services within the Financial Technology Sector.

“Humbled and proud to be recognised in 2023 NY Honours with an OBE award. Quite a journey from my Reading roots,” said Ingledew.

“I’ve really appreciated all the kind words over the last day or so, they mean a great deal to me. There are so many inspiring people to thank for their wise advice and valuable encouragement over my 60 years, far too many to mention in this post but I hope to see many of you in 2023.”

Carolyn Dawson, the CEO of Founders Forum – the organiser of London Tech Week – is to receive an award OBE for her services to technology and digital media.

Dawson told UKTN: “The London Tech Week vision has always been to create an inclusive platform that celebrates and furthers UK tech whilst driving real change. I’m thrilled we are achieving this and look forward to growing our reach and expanding our impact in the year ahead.”

Other members of the UK tech sector on the New Year Honours List 2023 include:

  • Dr Gurdial Sanghera – founder and CEO, Oxford Nanopore Technologies plc. For services to the technology sector.
  • Rebecca George OBE – former president of British Computing Society. For services to diversity in the technology profession.
  • Beverley Gower-Jones – founder and CEO, Carbon Limiting Technologies. For services to net zero innovation.
  • Stuart Clarke – festival director, Leeds Digital Festival. For services to the technology sector.
  • Dr Godfrey Gaston – director, Centre for Secure Information Technologies. For services to cybersecurity innovation.
  • Dominic Jacquesson – vice president, insight and talent, Index Ventures. For services to technology and to entrepreneurship.
  • Gavin Killeen DL – managing director, Nuprint Technologies Ltd. For services to further education in Northern Ireland.
  • Jennie Martin – director general, ITS-UK. For services to transport technology (London, Greater London).
  • Professor Naseem Naqvi – president, British Blockchain Association. For services to blockchain and distributed ledger technologies.
  • Anisah Britton – founder, 23 Code Street. For services to diversity in the technology sector.